Press
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Contact: Nancy Gold
The Gold Standard
(914) 232-6583
marketing@thegoldstandard.com

“FOLLOW THE HUDSON RIVER LIGHTHOUSE TRAIL”

New Brochure Marks First Time Hudson Lights Presented Together

Trail Includes Statue of Liberty Which Was Once a Federal Lighthouse

(HUDSON RIVER VALLEY, N.Y.) – The Hudson River Lighthouse Coalition has announced the recent publication of a brochure entitled “Follow the Hudson River Lighthouse Trail,” which, for the first time, provides the public with information on visiting the eight remaining lighthouses along the Hudson River, from the Statue of Liberty in the south to the Hudson-Athens Lighthouse in the north. The brochure is accompanied by a website which can be found at www.hudsonlights.com.

Soon to be distributed to all the historic sites and tourism information centers in the Hudson Valley, the brochure tells the history of the lighthouses, all fourteen of which were built after the opening of the Erie Canal increased commercial traffic on the river.

The brochure includes a map and information on the eight lights that still stand today, plus a vibrant photo of each. These regal and proud guardians echo an earlier time, beckoning lighthouse enthusiasts and history buffs to retrace the journeys of sloops and steamboats, tugboats and cargo ships that once depended on their lights.
Modern navigational tools have rendered most of the Hudson’s beacons obsolete, but the lighthouses never fail to fascinate visitors to the region. Several of the lights now hold museums; one offers overnight accomodations, and a few still proffer warnings to mariners of rocks and shoals ahead.

In announcing the publication, Coalition chairperson Louise Bliss of Hudson said, “We are very pleased to be able to present to the public this concise and inviting guide to the lighthouses of the Hudson River. It is our hope that visitors and residents alike will enjoy discovering all that the Hudson Valley has to offer, while traveling from light to light.”

The brochure’s main sponsor is the Hudson River Valley Greenway, which provided a $15,000 grant. Carmella R. Mantello, Executive Director of the Greenway and Director of the Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area, stated, “The lighthouses of the Hudson River are fast becoming one of the Valley’s preeminent tourist attractions, and the joint efforts of the Lighthouse Coalition and the Greenway will help them and the nearby communities tap into these historical, cultural and economic resources. With the Governor and the Greenway’s continued support for such regional tourism projects, along with our efforts to market the Valley through the Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area program, the world will soon discover the beauty, history and serenity of the great Hudson River Valley.”

Other sponsors include the Teicher Organization, the Village of Sleepy Hollow, Ginsburg Development Corporation, Kingston Landings, Historic House Trust of NYC, HVNet.com, Hudson Mohawk Resource Conservation & Development Council, Inc., Lower Hudson-Long Island Resource Conservation & Development Council, Inc., National Park Service Rivers & Trails Program, New York State/Department of Environmental Conservation/Hudson River Estuary Program, USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service, Hudson Valley Enterprises, Blue Sky Restorations and American Heritage Rivers Initiative.

The Gold Standard, a Katonah-based marketing communications firm that specializes in tourism development, produced the brochure. Gene Krackehl Associates of Katonah did the design and most of the color photography was done by Jim Crowley. The website for the Lighthouse Coalition was produced by Joe Bigelow of HVNet.com.
The Hudson River Lighthouse Coalition is a consortium of non-profit organizations that preserve and protect the Hudson Lights. For more information about visiting the lighthouses of the Hudson River, go to www.hudsonlights.com.

For tourism information on the Hudson Valley, call 888-576-4784 for a free brochure on the Hudson Valley National Heritage Area, or 800-232-4782 for a free regional travel guide. On the web, go to www.hudsonrivervalley.com or www.hvnet.com.

- 30-

 

 

DESCRIPTIONS OF THE HUDSON RIVER LIGHTHOUSES

The Statue of Liberty - Long forgotten is the fact that the famous Statue of Liberty, at the southern entrance to the Hudson River, was once a lighthouse. Congress accepted France’s monumental gift as work of art and a beacon for New York harbor in 1877. After Liberty’s dedication and unveiling in 1886, President Cleveland appointed the U.S. Light-House Board to be its caretaker. Engineers set up a steam dynamo plant on Bedloe’s Island and fourteen arc lamps, nine in the torch and five others positioned strategically below at the angles of Fort Wood. Even so, the dimness of the lighting was little help to vessels entering the harbor and efforts were made to increase the illumination. In 1897, an oil-generating engine was installed to power the lights, but they were still insufficient, and the Liberty Lighthouse closed in 1902. Today, visitors to Liberty Island can learn more about the old Liberty Lighthouse from park rangers. (212) 363-3200 www.nps.gov/stli

Jeffrey’s Hook Lighthouse - Nestled beneath the George Washington Bridge, “Little Red” served as a beacon to ships navigating the Hudson River for 26 years between 1921 and 1947. Originally erected on Sandy Hook, New Jersey, in 1880, the lighthouse became obsolete and was dismantled in 1917. Four years later, the bright red, conical iron tower with its 1,000 pound fog signal was reconstructed on Jeffrey’s Hook at 178th Street in Manhattan to improve navigation on the Hudson River. Now surrounded by Fort Washington Park, “Little Red” can be visited by contacting the Urban Park Rangers at (212) 304-2365.

The 1883 Lighthouse at Sleepy Hollow - Commonly known as the Kingsland Point Lighthouse or the Tarrytown Lighthouse, the 1833 Lighthouse at Sleepy Hollow is located in Kingsland Point Park in the shadow of the Tappan Zee Bridge. First lit on October 1, 1883, the rock-rimmed cast iron tower alerted ships to the dangerous shoal water on the river’s eastern shore until 1965, when its light was extinguished after more than 75 years of service. On exhibit in the lighthouse are logbooks and chronicles, photographs and furnishings that show what family life was like in a lighthouse more than 100 years ago. Group tours are available by appointment by calling the Village of Sleepy Hollow 914-366-5109.

Stony Point Lighthouse – Stony Point lighthouse, the oldest on the Hudson, marked the entrance to the Hudson Highlands for nearly a hundred years. Built of blue split stone in 1826, the lighthouse is a three-story octagonal structure sited on a promontory on the western shore of the Hudson, where the river narrows above Haverstraw Bay. A fourth-order Fresnel lens, c.1850, has been restored to the lantern room, making the historic lighthouse fully operational, although no longer an aide-to-navigation. Today the lighthouse is part of the Stony Point Battlefield State Historic Site, operated by New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation and the Palisades Interstate Park Commission. Tours are available by appointment most weekend afternoons from April through October, 845-786-2521. Located on Park Road, off Route 9W in Stony Point.

Rondout Lighthouse – The Rondout Lighthouse, built in 1913 at Kingston, is the last and largest lighthouse constructed along the Hudson River. In 2002, the U.S. Coastguard turned over ownership of the lighthouse to the City of Kingston, which partners with the Hudson River Maritime Museum to care for the structure. Although no longer inhabited, the Rondout light continues to operate. Visitors can enter the lighthouse to view period furnishings and to learn of the experiences of lightkeepers such as Catherine Murdock. In the tower they can see the working Fresnel lens and enjoy fantastic Hudson River views. For more information, log onto www.hrmm.org or call 845-338-0071.

Esopus Meadows Lighthouse - Mud flats to the west on the Hudson River at Port Ewen created the necessity for this lighthouse, which is surrounded by water and framed by the Catskill Mountains. The foundation of the lighthouse consists of 250 forty-foot-long piles driven into the riverbed and cut off three feet below the mean water mark. A 49-foot round pier topped with stacked granite blocks supports the wood-framed keeper’s dwelling. Attached to the dwelling is a 53-foot-high octagonal tower, which holds the lantern. The lighthouse, nicknamed “Maid of the Meadows” is a historical treasure, as it is the only remaining Hudson River Lighthouse built with a wood frame and clapboard exterior. Extensive renovation continues. The light can best be viewed from the river, or from the west bank at Lighthouse Park in Ulster Park and from the east bank at Staatsburgh Mansion For more information, call 845-297-1569 or go to www.esopusmeadowslighthouse.org.

Saugerties Lighthouse – In 1869, a stately red brick lighthouse was constructed at the mouth of the Esopus Creek at Saugerties, replacing an original 1835 structure. A family lighthouse of strong Federal and simple Italianate styles, the Saugerties light was erected on a massive circular stone base. After being decommissioned in 1954, the lighthouse deteriorated. Today, the restored working lighthouse welcomes visitors for tours and overnight B&B accommodations. Visitors enjoy swimming, picnicking and boating. Overnight guests have a quiet, restful stay with a magnificent river view. In the lighthouse are a museum, parlor, kitchen, and two bedrooms, appointed as they would have been during the early 20th century. The Saugerties Light can be reached by a half mile nature trail found at the end of Lighthouse Drive. For information, call 845-247-0656 or go to www.saugertieslighthouse.com.

Hudson-Athens Lighthouse – The northern-most lighthouse on the Hudson River at Hudson-Athens rises from the river like a tiny gem. Hazards created by the Middle Ground Flats opposite the city of Hudson made navigation of this portion of the Hudson River risky. Built in 1874, the lighthouse is still an active aid to navigation. The lighthouse, designed as a Family Station, was home to Emil Brunner, the last civilian lightkeeper (1932 -1949), his wife and four children. Visitors can hear the operational fog signal bell and see one of the last remaining operational “clock works,” manufactured by the Gamewell Fire Alarm Telegraph Company of New York. On the outside deck, just feet from passing ships, guests are treated to a panoramic view of the river and the Catskills. For information on tours given May-October by the Hudson/Athens Lighthouse Preservation Society, call 518-828-5294 or go to www.hudsonathenslighthouse.org.

# # # # #


Lighthouses

Stony Point Lighthouse
Julia Warger
Historic Site Manager
Stony Point Battlefield State Historic Site

PO Box 182
Stony Point, NY 10980
845-786-2521


Esopus Meadows Lighthouse
Save Esopus Lighthouse Commission, SELC
Sharon Jones, Director

P.O. Box 1290
Port Ewen, New York 12466
845-331-1478 H
845-339-3060 W

Barbara Lewis
86 River Road
Rhinebeck, New York 12572
845-876-4205

Saugerties Lighthouse
Dick Duncan , President
Saugerties Lighthouse

11 Main Street
Saugerties, NY 12477
914-706-8258

Allen EMersonn
Saugerties Site Keeper

845-247-0656

Rondout Lighthouse
Karen Nichols
Education Director
Hudson River Maritime Museum

50 Rondout Landing
Kingston, NY 12401
845-338-0071

Hudson-Athens Lighthouse
Louise Bliss, Vice-President
Hudson Athens Lighthouse Preservation Society

Box 145
Athens NY 12015
518-828-5294

Little Red Lighthouse
Dyckman Farm House Museum
Administrator of Little Red Lighthouse

4881 Broadway
New York, NY 10034
212-304-9422

Benjamin Haavik, Deputy Director
Historic House Trust of New York City

The Arsenal, Room 203
Central Park
New York, New York 10021
212-360-8243
212-360-8201

Statue of Liberty National Monument
David Luchsinger, Deputy Superindendent
Liberty Island, NY 10004
212-363-3206 x105

Photos for use in publications

Click link for photo Photo Credit
Little Red Image #1 www.hvnet.com
Little Red Image #2 www.hvnet.com
Little Red Image #3 www.hvnet.com
Little Red Image #4 www.hvnet.com
Rondout Image #1 www.hvnet.com
Rondout Image #2 www.hvnet.com
Rondout Image #3 www.hvnet.com
Rondout Image #4 www.hvnet.com
Rondout Image #5 www.hvnet.com
Rondout Image #6 www.hvnet.com
Sleepy Hollow Image #1 www.hvnet.com
Stony Point Image #1 www.hvnet.com
Stony Point Image #2 www.hvnet.com

 

Site Navigation - click to go
Statue of Liberty Little Red Lighthouse Sleepy Hollow Lighthouse Stony Point Lighthouse
Esopus Meadows Lighthouse Rondout Lighthouse Saugerties Lighthouse Hudson-Athens Lighthouse
Main Page Calendar Links Map

This presentation on the Lighthouses of the Hudson River has been created in partnership with HV/Net. For more information on everything there is to see and do in this most magnificent of valleys, click on the image at left.